Councillor vies for Ward 2

Left: Arts and culture manager of the City of Cape Town Izak Jenner, Rust-en-Vrede Gallery curator Hamlin Jansen van Vuuren, and Ward 112 councillor Theresa Uys.

Residents in the greater Parow area will see some old and new faces when they go to the polls next week Wednesday, August 3, along with millions of other South Africans.

About 3 million voters have registered in the Western Cape of which 1.9 million are from the metro.

In Ward 2 (Churchill Estate, De Tijger, Fairfield Estate, Glenlilly, Oosterzee and Parow North) incumbent DA councillor Lenore van der Walt will seek re-election for a second term.

She won 92.63 percent of the vote in the 2011 local government poll, in which 10 493 of the 14 268 registered voters cast their ballots.

Johan Petrus Willemse from the Freedom Front Plus (FF +) will also contest the ward along with the EFF’s Nosipho Kunene and the ACDP’s Johannes Lodewikus Louw.

In Ward 10 (Avondale, Oostersee, Parow, Parow East and Tygerberg Hospital), incumbent DA councillor Ernest Sonnenberg will not stand for re-election in the ward, which will be contested by the DA’s Jacoline Visser, the ANC’s Patricia Juliana Visser, Jefry van Wyk from the FF +, the EFF’s Jacqueline Aniya Isaacs, and the ACDP’s Demetrius Kenneth Dudley.

In 2011, Mr Sonnenberg took 82.64 percent of the vote, and 8 691 out of 14 217 registered voters cast their ballots.

Ward 26, previously headed by the late DA councillor Richard O’Connell, is contested by the DA’s Franchesca Walker, the ANC’s Sophia Lorna Emkie, Jefry van Wyk from the FF +, the EFF’s Carron Charmaine Anthony and the ACDP’s Henry William Arendse. The area includes Churchill Estate, Glenlily, Leonsdale, Parow, Parow Golf Course and Parow Valley.

In 2011, Mr O’Connell took 84 percent of the vote, and 9 124 out of 14 369 registered voters cast their ballots.