New leadership at music centre

Dr Arisa Voges

Dr Arisa Voges has taken over the reins as principal of the Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre in Parow, her second stint there.

At her first meeting with parents last week, she expressed delight with the huge turnout. She had taught at the centre for 18 years until six years ago when she left to pursue new opportunities in Gauteng and her doctoral research in Bloemfontein.

Helen Cyster, who chairs the music school’s governing body, welcomed Dr Voges in her new role and added that they were pleasantly surprised by the 2017 enrolment at the centre.

Some of the highlights of this year’s centre programme are:

The annual staff concert on Friday March 3.

A concert of past winners of the SAMRO national competition, featuring harpist Liza Britz, percussionist Emilio February and Cameron Williams, on Sunday April 23.

The symphony orchestra outreach performance in Greyton, from Friday May 19 to Sunday May 21;

An orchestra concert on Friday June 2.

The Concerto Festival on Saturday August 27.

The SAMRO Hubert van der Spuy National Music Competition, from Monday September 25 to Friday September 29.

The National Youth Music Competition, from Tuesday October 10 to Saturday October 14.

The Prestige Prizewinners’ Concert, on Friday November 10.

A Christmas concert, on Thursday November 30.