Eat dust…

Timmy Hansen, of Sweden, was crowned champion at the FIA World Rallycross championship final at Killarney. Rallycross is head-to-head short, sharp racing on mixed surfaces (dirt and asphalt) contained within amphitheatre venues. 

Thousands of motorsport fans were treated to a spectacle during the championship season finale. While the continent has hosted a number of high profile events in the past, such as the Dakar Rally, World Championship, Formula 1 and Formula E, the FIA World Rallycross championship in SA was one of the first FIA-sanctioned world championship races since the SA Grand Prix of 1993.

The weekend belonged to the Hansen brothers, Timmy and Kevin. Despite the crash, they recouped and recovered to a fourth and fifth finish respectively in the final. 
However, their team earned enough points to be crowned the season finale champions. The FIA World Rallycross Championship of SA was won by Finnish driver Niclas Grönholm, with Norwegian Andreas Bakkerud in second place, followed by Russian Timur Timerzyanov.