Voters paint the City blue

It’s a case of “DA jà vu” for Goodwood and Parow after the DA romped home to a resounding win in Cape Town in last week’s local government poll.

The party grabbed 66.61 percent of the vote, followed by the ANC, with 24.36 percent, and the newcomers, the EFF, with 3.17 percent in the City of Cape Town.

The ANC’s share of the vote dropped 8.44 percent from the last municipal election, held in 2011. The DA was up 5.69 percent.

Three new DA ward councillors in the Parow and Monte Vista areas will take their seats this week.

The City of Cape Town’s inaugural council meeting will be on Thursday August 11, at 11am, when the new council will elect the mayor, deputy mayor and speaker.

The three new ward councillors are Cheryl Visser, who will represent Ward 1; Jacoline Visser, for Ward 10, and Franchesca Walker, for Ward 26. They will join two re-elected DA councillors, Cecile Janse van Rensburg, for Ward 27, and Leonore van der Walt, for Ward 2.

Ward 1 includes De Duin, Kaapzicht, Kleinbosch, Monte Vista, N1 City, Panorama, Plattekloof, Plattekloof Glen, Sonnendal, Welgelegen and Tygerdal, and 15 531 of the 19 398 registered voters there cast their ballots last week.

Cheryl Visser, who assumes office on a 93.39 percent landslide, replaces Sakkie Pretorius, who retired earlier this year.

Ward 2 covers De Tijger, Fairfield Estate, Oosterzee Parow, Parow North and parts of Bellville.

Ms Van der Walt was re-elected here for a third term with 92.39 percent of the vote. She won with a similar margin back in 2011, taking 92.63 percent. This year, 14 120 of the ward’s 18 644 registered voters turned out on polling day.

Another Visser is representing Ward 10, which covers parts of Fairfield Estate, Oostersee Parow, Parow, Parow East and Tygerberg Hospital. Jacoline Visser, not be confused with her namesake in Ward 1, replaces Ernest Sonnenberg.

She landed 85.22 percent of the vote, and 9605 of the 15 127 registered voters cast their ballots.

In Ward 26, Ms Walker took 86.67 percent of the vote, with 13 101 of the 18 971 registered voters going to the polls.

Ms Walker replaces the late Richard O’Connell in a ward that includes Parow Valley, Richmond Estate, Elsies River, Beaconvale and Churchill Estate.

Cecile Janse van Rensburg was elected for a second term in Ward 27, with 89.31 percent of the vote and 9 937 of the 13 567 registered voters casting their ballots. Ms Janse van Rensburg’s ward covers Goodwood Extension 1, Goodwood Estate, Richmond Estate, Townsend Estate and Vasco. In 2001, she landed 88.12 percent of the vote.

She said she felt grateful and privileged to be able to serve the people of Goodwood for another five years.

“I am willing to take this on through a partnership of relevant roleplayers as well as the community. Without the community we can’t do it,” she said, adding that on-going maintenance in Goodwood and homelessness were top of her to-do list.

The DA dominated much of the Western Cape in last week’s election, securing 468 seats in the province – 28 more than 2011. In Cape Town, it took 154 council seats to the ANC’s 57. The EFF has seven seats, the ACDP three and Al-Jama-ah two. The African Independent Congress, Freedom Front Plus, Democratic Independent Party, UDM, Cape Muslim Congress, PAC, Cope and Patriotic Alliance each received one seat.