Grant Twigg retained as sub-council chairman

DA councillor Grant Twigg was re-elected as Sub-council 2 chairman, and the redemarcation of Bloekombos and Brackenfell into Sub-council 2 approved, at the Bergdal chambers, yesterday, November 15.

At the sitting, Ward 101 councillor Luyanda Mbele, Ward 102 councillor Carin Brynard, their PR councillors and constituents, were officially welcomed in chambers.
Mr Mbele said he was delighted about the move, which he said would make it more convenient for Bloekombos residents to attend sub-council meetings in Kraaifontein, whereas Durbanville, where Sub-council 7 offices are situated, was too far.

Shaun August, DA chief whip, confirmed on Tuesday afternoon that the party had retained Mr Twigg’s services as chairman.

The redemarcation of Wards 101 and 102, which encompass Bloekombos and Brackenfell, respectively, from Sub-council 7, had followed public participation, approvals from council and the demarcation board, the City said.

Xanthea Limberg, mayoral committee member for corporate services and compliance, said an increase in the number of wards for the city had necessitated a “relook at the boundaries” for sub-councils. As a result, a multi-party committee had been set up to put proposals together.

Ms Limberg said it was decided that sub-councils would be clustered into four area-based service delivery districts using the health district boundaries. Each cluster needed six sub-councils with a minimum of three wards and a maximum of six.

The guiding principle was to create integrated communities to overcome apartheid spatial planning; physical barriers, that is railways, freeways, mountains, rivers and major water-ways were taken into account; and cognisance was given to existing City infrastructure, sub-council offices and budgets.