DF Malan backs #Teamgeorge initiative

Pupils from DF Malan High School with their supporters' banner.

The DF Malan Rugby Supporters’ Club dedicated the last month of the rugby season to fund-raising initiatives for a UK rugby player who was injured during a match at the school.

George Robinson, 18, from Stamford School suffered a serious spinal cord injury in a tackle, during a rugby match at DF Malan High School in Bellville on July 27 2015.

The DF Malan Rugby Supporters’ Club held various fund-raisers in July in support of the #Teamgeorge fund-raising initiative, which was started in the UK.

The #Teamgeorge initiative is being supported by sporting legends around the world, including South Africa’s Francois Pienaar, who captained the Springbok team that won the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

Pienaar recorded a video that was posted on the school’s Facebook page, where he wished George well for the road ahead and called on the public to support the initiative.

“This is also being supported by the Chris Burger Petro Jackson Players’ Fund, an organisation supporting individuals and their families who have sustained life-changing and catastrophic injuries on the rugby field,” said rugby co-ordinator Louis Lamprecht.

A gala movie night was also held at Ster-Kinekor at the Tyger Valley shopping centre on Saturday July 28, with the screening of Me Before You.

The Boeremusiekgilde will host a dance at the school on Saturday August 13. Tickets are R60 per person and the proceeds of the evening will be donated.

There is also a corporate challenge for businesses that wish to show their support for the fundraising initiative. Businesses can contact Ryno Beck at 083 232 4547.

The Rugby Supporters’ Club is selling #Teamgeorge beanies at R100 each, of which Land Rover N1 City has sponsored the first 100.

“This initiative does not stop with the fundraising effort, but also includes raising awareness among all players of the serious injuries that can happen to them and to educate the players in the prevention thereof,” said Mr Lamprecht.