DA voters paint the City blue

Voters line up at Welgemoed Primary School on Wednesday August 3.

The DA managed to retain all eight wards in Bellville and Durbanville, while winning the new ward, 112, in the local government elections on Wednesday August 3.

Former Ward 21 councillor Theresa Uys will now head Ward 112, which comprises of D’Urbanvale, Durbanville CBD, Sonstraal Heights and Morningstar. The DA received 94.03 percent of the votes in this ward, while the ACDP received 2.01 percent and the ANC 1.87 percent.

The DA welcomes three new councillors to the area: Sub-council 3 chairman Taki Amira is the new councillor for Ward 21, Jacoline Visser takes over from mayoral committee member for utility services Ernest Sonnenberg in Ward 10 and Ruan Beneke replaces Ward 105’s Justin Basson.

The DA garnered more than 80 percent of the votes in most of the wards except Ward 105, where the ANC secured 17.15 percent of the votes and the DA, 76.98 percent.

The ANC received most of its support in this ward from Fisantekraal where 51.76 percent of residents voted for the party. Ward 105 includes Cape Farms, De Grendel, Fisantekraal, Visserhok, Proteaville and Richwood.

Mr Beneke previously told Northern News the top challenges for this ward included uplifting Fisantekraal; addressing Goedemoed, Durmont and Vierlanden’s security concerns; bringing social and economic opportunities to Philadelphia and respecting Durbanville’s heritage (“Race to the poll is on,” Northern News, July 14).

The DA received 93.01 percent of the votes for Ward 3, a slight drop from the 95.06 percent in 2011. Ward 3 councillor Brendan Van der Merwe will stand for another term and says there is still a lot of work to be done in the ward, which covers Loumar, Shirley Park, De La Haye, Stikland, Chrismar, Oakdale, La Rochelle, Blomtuin, Old Oak, Oak Glen, Vredenberg and Blommendal.

“We have made progress over the last five-year term and will continue to address matters relating to safety and security, general maintenance of roads and City Parks and the overall upkeep of neighbourhoods,” he said.

He urged residents to help by reporting faults as soon as possible and joining neighbourhood watches, area forum committees or homeowners’ associations.

Gerhard Fourie remains the councillor for Ward 103 with 95 percent of the votes, while the ACDP received 1.58 percent and the Freedom Front Plus 1.38 percent. The ward covers Amanda Glen, Bonnie Brook, Durbanville Golf Course, Durbanville Meadows, Durbanville Sports Ground, a small portion of Eversdal, Goedemoed, Langeberg Ridge and Rosedale.

The DA received a resounding 95.55 percent of the votes for Ward 21 with Mr Amira taking over as the new councillor. Mr Amira is no stranger to the area, having served as chairman of Kenridge The Hills Ratepayers’ Association and currently serving as chairman of the Durbanville Heritage Society. Ward 21 includes Aurora, Durbanville Hills, Durbell, Everglen, Eversdal, Eversdal Heights, Natures Valley, Stellenberg and Stellenryk.

Andrea Crous has been re-elected as councillor for Ward 70, receiving 95.35 percent of the votes. Ward 70 includes Lovenstein, Welgemoed, Oude Westhof, Van Riebeecks Hof, Hoheizen, Kenridge and Blomvlei.

Leonore van der Walt was re-elected in Ward 2, which includes Bellville CBD, Avondale, Oakdale, Boston and Oostersee Bellville.

She won 92.63 percent of the vote in the 2011 local government elections, and kept her seat with 92.39 percent of the votes in this election.

The new face in Ward 10 is Ms Visser, who has served as a proportional councillor in Ward 22 since 2011 and was part of the social development portfolio in council. Ms Visser was up against the ANC’s Patricia Visser who received 7.41 percent of the votes, compared to the 12.15 percent the ANC received in the previous election. Ward 10 covers Avondale, Bellville CBD, Bellrail, Stikland, Sanlamhof, Tygerberg Hospital and Transnet.

* The DA received 66.61 percent of the votes in Cape Town, followed by the ANC with 24.36 percent and the EFF with 3.17 percent.

The DA has 154 council seats to the ANC’s 57. The EFF has seven seats, the ACDP three and Al-Jama-ah two. The African Independent Congress, Freedom Front Plus, Democratic Independent Party, UDM, Cape Muslim Congress, PAC, Cope and Patriotic Alliance each received one seat.

The inaugural council meeting will be held today, Thursday August 11, where the the mayor, deputy mayor and speaker.