CPF chair officially named

Bellville polices Colonel William Smith.

Hennie Koekemoer has officially been named the chairman of the Bellville Community Police Forum (BCPF) and Stefan Fourie is vice chair.

The two had been in those positions in an acting capacity since the resignation of the former chair in 2015.

They were confirmed in their positions at a special meeting on Thursday May 25.

Mr Koekemoer told the meeting that two exco members, Tommy Milakovic and Tommy van Zyl, had resigned due to work commitments.

Cheryl Cowley said Bellville police station’s new victim support unit would open today, Thursday June 1. It would be open five days a week and had 10 volunteers but more were needed.

Mr Koekemoer said the station also needed more commissioners of oaths and reservists.

Bellville police’s Colonel William Smith said 4453 of the 10 444 cases reported to the station from April 1 2016 to March 31 2017 had gone to court, leading to 1211 guilty verdicts.

Colonel Smith said business robberies remained the biggest threat with criminals using cloned licence plates on their getaway cars.

“We made some arrests but the criminals simply re-group and come back again,” he said.