Awards recognise nursing excellence at Tygerberg

Elsa Reiner Award winners Joulene Solomons, from Paarl, and Kalthoem Bickerstaff, from Stellenbosch.

One hundred nurses received awards in various categories at the 32nd Hartman Nursing Awards, held at Tygerberg Hospital, last Friday.

The awards are named after Maria Hartman, the former chief matron of Tygerberg Hospital.

Tygerberg Hospital is the largest public health facility in the province with nearly 2 200 nurses.

“We value what they do as an ever-present force for good. We also appreciate their contribution in ensuring that we deliver excellent and compassionate care to our patients,” said hospital CEO Dr Matodzi Mukosi.

Joulene Solomons, an operational nursing manager from Paarl, received the Elsa Reiner Award for Neonatology. She has worked in neonatology for 30 years.

“I was very overwhelmed and will always cherish today in my heart. Thank you to the Bellville Rotary Club for nominating me. I cannot express my feelings in words but with sincere gratitude I would like to thank my manager for her leadership, advice and encouragement, especially on difficult days over the years,” she said.

Megan Baker, a community service practitioner at Tygerberg Hospital, received the Hartman Lecturer’s Award.

“Nursing is a field that requires passion, love, dedication and service above self. There is no better feeling than watching a patient leave the ward that you’ve nursed for weeks on end and they are able to finally go home and spend time with their families,” she said.

Nicole Dreyer, an enrolled nursing assistant from Elsies River who works in the hospital’s emergency services, received an award for nursing excellence for emergency services.

“My patients motivate me to come to work every day and after 28 years of working at Tygerberg Hospital, it is a great honour to receive this award,” she said. “Everything that I do, I do it for the patients, and I do it to the best of my ability.”

Outpatients department winners, from left, Desiree Ludick, from Elsies River; Louisa Cedras, from Blackheath; and Sophia September, from Strand.
Megan Baker, from Milnerton, won the Community Service Practitioner Award.
William Babu, of Scottsdene, won the Central Sterile Services Department Operators Award.