Awards for Bellville SAPS

Bellville police officers have received praise for good work. At a ceremony late last month for precincts in the Tygerberg cluster, the station took home awards, for best visible policing, the best group of sector commanders and best detective.

The quarterly awards were started by the Cape Chamber of Commerce and Industry to promote good police work.

Winners, selected by the police’s human resources department, are announced every three months with the best of the best receiving a floating trophy at the end of the year.

Bellville police’s crime prevention unit (group A) consisting of Warrant Officer Riaan Boshoff and constables Conwill Lawrence, Jonathan Booysen, Fabian Fransman, Xolisani Mtwebana, Liesl Simmers, Keanan Joseph and Lee-Lyn Hockey, was named the best visible policing group

The best visible policing member was Warrant Officer Lorette Dippenaar and the best detective Sergeant Clinton Lategan.

The best group of sector commanders were captains George Havenga, Gerrit de Villiers, and Tobias Engelbrecht, and warrant officers Johannes Smit, Gabriel Hawkins and Jacobus van Zyl.

Bellville police station commander Brigadier André van Dyk said their partnership with communities had helped them reduce crime in the past two years.

“The Bellville Community Police Forum (BCPF), the 24 neighbourhood watches and four city improvement districts in partnership with SAPS are doing good work.

“Our partnership with the Tygerberg Business Chamber will ensure that our service to this business community improves,” he said.

BCPF chairman Hennie Koekemoer said: “These awards will help in building a strong relationship between the business community and the police.”